Klaus Mäkelä
© Marco Borggreve

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Concert | Musikfest Berlin 2022

Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam

Opening concert Musikfest Berlin 2022

Klaus Mäkelä, conductor
Saariaho | Mahler

This year’s opening concert for Musikfest Berlin begins on a cosmic scale. Klaus Mäkelä and the Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam present the orchestral triptych “Orion” by Kaija Saariaho, whose title refers to the constellation of that name. This will be followed by Gustav Mahler’s 6th Symphony.

Concert Programme

Kaija Saariaho (*1952)
Orion (2002)

Gustav Mahler (1860 – 1911)
Symphony No. 6 in A minor (1903 – 1904)


Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam
Klaus Mäkelä