Odessa Philharmonic Orchestra
© Odessa Philharmonic Orchestra

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Concert | Musikfest Berlin 2022

Odessa Philharmonic Orchestra

Hobart Earle, conductor
Skoryk | Lysenko | Karamanov | Sibelius

The Odessa Philharmonic Orchestra, directed by its Principal Conductor Hobart Earle, presents a series of works by Ukrainian composers that are less well-known here: music from Myroslav Skoryk’s Hutsul Tryptich, based on the accessible Carpathian-Ukrainian folklore of the Hutsul mountain people along with Alemdar Karamanov’s introspective Third Piano Concerto with Tamara Stefanovich as the soloist. And, of course, the programme also includes music by Mykola Lysenko, who is regarded as the founder of the Ukrainian musical tradition. The evening is then rounded off with the Second Symphony by Jean Sibelius.

У відеоплеєрі доступні українські субтитри.

Concert Programme

Myroslav Skoryk (1938 – 2020)
Dytynstvo (Childhood)
Music from the film
Shadows of the Forgotten Ancestors (1965)

Mykola Lysenko (1842 – 1912)
Elegy op. 41, Nr. 3 (1902)

Alemdar Karamanov (1934 – 2007)
Piano Concerto No. 3 “Ave Maria” (1968)

Jean Sibelius (1865 – 1957)
Symphony No. 2 in D major op. 43 (1901)


Tamara Stefanovich piano

Odessa Philharmonic Orchestra
Hobart Earle conductor